Is it Vegan? Six Snacks That Are and Three Products That Surprisingly Aren’t
Think you know your taurine from your tofu? These vegan foods might take you by surprise…
Universally loved or hated, the umami spread also divides vegans. While Marmite isn’t made from plants, it isn’t made from animals either. The yeast extract is a great source of vitamin B12, too.
Despite brewers often using isinglass (fish guts to you and I), Guinness eliminated such traces from its filtration process in 2018. A pint of the black stuff (even though it’s actually ruby red) will do everyone more good than harm. Phew!
3. RITZ CRACKERS
No, they’re not loaded with butter, despite what the taste may make you think. And although the packet shows a big slab of cheese on it, this is purely a serving suggestion. These crackers are made from soybean oil and contain ingredients such as ‘natural flavour’ and ‘natural smoke’, but no animal products in sight.
Most sweets get a bad rep in the vegan world due to the fact they contain gelatine and carmine. But these fruity wonders have none of that going on. They’ll make your mouth water, no matter what lifestyle you lead.
5. DRIED PASTA
Sure, fresh pasta definitely contains eggs, but the dried variety? Nothing, just flour, semolina flour, a pinch of salt and water. Even spaghetti. The bolognese on the other hand…
Only some flavours actually pass the vegan-friendly test. But you’d never know because they aren’t labelled as such, due to being made in factories that handle animal products. Some flavours contain milk, but you should be fine with Chilli Heatwave, Lightly Salted and BBQ & Chilli.
IS IT VEGAN?
These products might catch you out:
Certain candles contain tallow, a substance made from animal fat, and stearic acid, which can also come from the slaughterhouse. And then there’s beeswax, of course. Go for soy wax.
Believe it or not, some paints are made with a milk protein as a binder, while others use beeswax to bind. Many are tested on animals too. Some might not be labelled ‘vegan’ so opt for ‘cruelty free’.
They may look fun but be careful the next time you get out your colouring book. These bright beauties contain beef fat – that’s why crayons smell funny!